Slash at the 2nd Annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards presented by Epiphone.

Photos by Tom Wallace

It was the night for heavy music and honoring those that make it happen, with devil-signs flashed on the black carpet, lots of black apparel, fans, and fashionistas at the Club Nokia in downtown LA on April 8 for the 2nd annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards presented by Epiphone. Featuring the best of metal, walking the black carpet were some of the biggest bands in the genre, including Rob Zombie, Ozzy Osbourne, Ronnie James Dio, Slash, David Grohl, Lemmy, Marilyn Manson, Anthrax, Alice Cooper, Alice in Chains, and newcomers such as Dillinger Escape Plan and As I Lay Dying.

Hosted by Andrew WK and Chris Jericho, the event started off with a huge round-up of top musicians playing with Slash and his new band, including Lemmy singing “Ace of Spades” with David Grohl on drums, plus performances with leader singer from Wolfmother Andrew Stockdale and Myles Kennedy.

Full-Metal Jackie for Mayhem Fest interviewing Rob Zombie, the closing act of the night.

Devils Wear Prada and As I Lay Dying followed-up illustrating a new breed of metal, which stoked many fans in the mosh-pit.

In a way, however the Revolver Golden Gods shows the respect the genre has for the old-timers. And like metal awards shows in Europe, much respect was paid to the kingpins of metal featuring such top performers and ending appropriately with a powerful performance by Rob Zombie.

Other highlights included Ozzy Osbourne’s presentation of the Metal Blade Golden God Award to Rob Halford from Judas Priest, and Black Label Society leader Zakk Wylde, who performed a metal version of the National Anthem alongside United States Marines.

David Grohl on the Black Carpet. He played drums to Lemmy’s Ace of Spades featuring Slash on guitar. Epic.

Awards went to:
Metal Blade Golden God Award: Rob Halford (presented by Ozzy Osbourne)
Epiphone Best Guitarist Award: Zakk Wylde (presented by Kerry King of Slayer)
Ferret Music Best Underground Band Award: Dillinger Escape Plan (presented by Alice Cooper and Rob Zombie)
Liquid Metal Best Vocalist Award: Ronnie James Dio (presented by Jerry Cantrell and Mike Inez of Alice in Chains)
Samson/Zoom Best Live Band Award: Metallica (presented by Scott Ian of Anthrax and Allison Robertson of the Donnas)
Guitar World Comeback of the Year Award: Alice in Chains (presented by Phil Bozeman, Ben Savage, and Alex Wade of Whitechapel)
Roadrunner Records Honorary Headbanger Award: Robert Englund (presented by Kat Von D and Jim Rota and Emily Burton of Fireball Ministry)
Just Cause 2 Hottest Chick in Metal Award: Maria Brink of In This Moment (presented by Marta of Bleeding Through and Corey Parks of Nashville Pussy and Chelsea Girls)
Drum Workshop Best Drummer Award: Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan of Avenged Sevenfold, accepted by his family (presented by Vinnie Paul of HELLYEAH and Pantera and Joey Jordison of Slipknot, Muderdolls and Rob Zombie)
Splatterhouse Lifetime Achievement Award: Lemmy Kilmister of Mot