Joan Jett receives the AP Icon Award, presented by Laura Jane Grace. All photos courtesy for AP Magazine.

There’s no doubt that the inaugural AP Music Awards last night, July 21, 2014, could have also been called the Vans Warped Tour Awards or even, the Kevin Lyman’s Bands Awards. Many of the amazing bands that were represented got their start with Lyman seeing their talent and putting them on Tour for hundreds of thousands of new fans to see each summer.

But Cleveland truly rocked harder than ever at what is now known as the Gibson Brands AP Music Awards fueled by Monster Energy Drink. The event kicked off with a bang at the world-famous Rock and Roll Hall of Fame & Museum – highlighted by star-studded award presentations and once-in-a-lifetime performances by the world’s biggest and greatest rock ’n’ roll artists.

Hosted by Blink-182’s Mark Hoppus and broadcast live in its entirety by AXS TV, the event drew a staggering 6,000 attendees and trended worldwide on Twitter for nearly five hours – solidifying the APMAs as the newest and epic-in-scope live music event and award show.

Mark Hoppus, Yellowcard present the APMA for Breakthrough Band to Crown The Empire.

The event featured a surprise appearance from Aerosmith’s Joe Perry, presenting the Guitar “Legend” Award to Slash (who first appeared on the cover of AP in 1988), as well as unprecedented performances such as a salute to Frank Sinatra led by Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco with Cleveland’s over-100-member Contemporary Youth Orchestra, Falling In Reverse with Coolio and Tyler Carter of Issues performing the rapper’s hit song “Gangsta’s Paradise,” Asking Alexandria performing Duran Duran’s chart-topping hit “Hungry Like The Wolf” with special guest Jonathan Davis of Korn, the Misfits performing “Dig Up Her Bones” and “Die Die My Darling’”, and “We Are 138” with Andy Biersack of Black Veil Brides and Joan Jett & The Blackhearts performing “Bad Reputation” with Billy Crooked of the Vacancies, “Soulmates To Strangers” with Against Me!’s Laura Jane Grace and a show-stopping cover of the Rolling Stones’ “Star Star” (“Starfucker”) with Slash.

In addition, All Time Low brought up special guests in the form of Yellowcard, New Found Glory and Vic Fuentes of Pierce The Veil for a groundbreaking all-star medley, including a performance of Song Of The Year winner, “A Love Like War.”

The show also featured stellar performances such as Fall Out Boy with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra of their hit single “The Phoenix”, Body Count feat. Ice-T performing “Talk Shit =Get Shot” and “There Goes The Neighborhood,” Sleeping With Sirens performing their hit song “Alone” with special guest Machine Gun Kelly, twenty one pilots with Michael Bohn of Issues and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra performing their hit single “Car Radio,” Machine Gun Kelly and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra on his hit single “See My Tears” and A Day To Remember performing their hit track “City Of Ocala” with Neck Deep.

All Time Low perform at the APMAs with members of Yellowcard, New Found Glory.

The following is a full list of all APMA award winners:

  • Best Vocalist presented by Victory Records – Brendon Urie, Panic! At The Disco
  • Best Live Band presented by Vans Warped Tour – Pierce The Veil
  • Breakthrough Band presented by Beats Music – Crown The Empire
  • Best Bassist presented by Dyin 2 Live – Jaime Preciado, Pierce The Veil
  • Best International Band presented by Zepeda Brothers Productions – Bring Me The Horizon
  • Artist Philanthropic Award presented by Sub City/Take Action – All Time Low
  • Best Guitarist presented by Gibson – Phil Manansala, Of Mice &Men
  • Vanguard Award presented by AXS TV – Billy Corgan
  • Best Drummer presented by DW Drums – Mike Fuentes, Pierce The Veil
  • Icon Award presented by Blackstar Amplification – Joan Jett
  • Most Dedicated Fans presented by Fearless Records – Black Veil Brides
  • Guitar Legend Award presented by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame – Slash
  • Song Of The Year presented by Epitaph Records – All Time Low w/Vic Fuentes of Pierce The Veil
  • Album Of The Year presented by Journeys – Bring Me The Horizon, Sempiternal
  • Artist Of The Year presented by Monster Energy – Fall Out Boy
Mark Hoppus brings out Dyin 2 Live winner, CM Punk introduces Billy Corgan for APMAs Vanguard Award.

Additional appearances were made by Billy Corgan, Laura Jane Grace, Ice T and Body Count and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2012 inductee Slash, as well as members of Attlia, Bayside, Beartooth, Chiodos, Crown The Empire, the Devil Wears Prada, Echosmith, Emmure, Every Time I Die, I See Stars, Issues, Korn, Less Than Jake, letlive., the Maine, Mayday Parade, Memphis May Fire, Miss May I, Motionless In White, Neck Deep, Paramore, Pierce The Veil, Saves The Day, Silverstein, Sleepwave, Suicide Silence, We Are The In Crowd, We Came As Romans, the Word Alive, and Yellowcard.

Check out official videos and media from the APMAs at