Carissa Moore at the Vans U.S. Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach, CA, July, 2013. Photo by ASP.

After a three-year hiatus, women’s competition will return to Hawaii with the ASP WCT season-ending Maui Women’s Pro as well as a women’s Pipe Masters showcase featuring top international and local talent. These events, combined with two men’s ASP Prime events, and the men’s ASP WCT finale in the Billabong Pipe Masters for a combined record prize purse of $1.25 Million.

This was part of the big news announced Thursday, March 8, 2014, from the Association of Surfing Professionals.  ASP also announced a license agreement with Vans Triple Crown of Surfing in Hawaii, the richest series in surfing’s history, to be held November 12 through December 20, 2014.

“Hawaii’s place in the history of surfing cannot be overstated,” Paul Speaker, ASP CEO, said. “They have a proud heritage of producing world-class surfers and boast some of the best waves on the planet. The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is one of the premiere series in all of sport and we’re thrilled to be supporting it more comprehensively this season and we’re very excited about reinstating the world’s best female surfers to Hawaii as well as providing a platform for local talent to shine. Our commitment is to the local community and to creating programs that will leave a legacy for them throughout the coming years.”

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing in Hawaii will culminate the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour. Photo: ASP/SCHOLTZ.

The acquiring of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing license caps a watershed year for professional surfing, with the Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour comprised of 21 international stops for men and women, more than $8 Million in prize money and global media coverage that has elevated the sport to unprecedented levels.

“To ensure the ongoing success and progression of our Vans Triple Crown of Surfing legacy while, at the same, time, supporting the new ASP’s vision for surfing’s future is a win for everyone associated with the sport and culture,” says Doug Palladini, Vans’ VP/GM Americas. “Vans remains deeply committed to our Hawaiian North Shore tradition as well as to our role in supporting surfing competition across the US and around the world. This partnership with the ASP only adds to that commitment.”

The Vans Triple Crown has long been considered the most prestigious title outside of the ASP World Title. It is awarded each year to the top performing surfer after three uniquely challenging ASP-rated events that are held on the North Shore of Oahu in giant winter waves.

To win a Triple Crown title is to earn the mark of a truly great and well-rounded professional surfer. Past champions include Kelly Slater, John John Florence, Joel Parkinson, Andy Irons, Sunny Garcia, Derek Ho and Tom Carroll.

“With the strength and support of the ASP and their surfers, this year’s Hawaiian winter of pro surfing will signal the arrival of an era in surfing we could once only dream of,” said Randy Rarick, Executive Director of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

The 2014 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing will also celebrate 30 years of the Reef Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa (November 12-23), and 40 years of the Vans World Cup of Surfing at Sunset Beach (Nov.24 to Dec. 6).

Local Surfers Take the Spotlight as they Challenge the World’s Best: A new feature of this year’s Billabong Pipe Masters will be the Pipe Trials – an event-within-event that will shine a spotlight on 32 Pipeline specialists and local Hawaiian professionals vying for two Pipe Masters wildcards and an additional $100,000 prize purse. Coupled with an additional 27 spots for local surfers in the Reef Hawaiian Pro and the Vans World Cup of Surfing, Hawaii’s most promising surfing talent will have every opportunity to stake their claim in home surf, in front of a global television audience and via LIVE online coverage.